THIS TRANSACTION MUST BE PROCESSED BY APPOINTMENT AT
THE 
DRIVER LICENSE OFFICE – 904 301 BLVD W, BRADENTON

Customers will be charged a $6.25 Tax Collector service fee for information and processing, and additional transaction fees may apply. Visit taxcollector.com to schedule your appointment. Services are for Manatee County residents and businesses only. 
 
Step 1. Pre-Qualifications
 
You must meet all of the following pre-qualifications in order to upgrade to a Commercial Driver License:
 
 Florida resident with proof of Social Security Number that verifies with the Social Security Administration.

 21 years of age to drive interstate (18-20 year olds will be restricted to intrastate operation only).

 Have an eligible (non-suspended) driving record in Florida and Out-of-State.

 Hold a Florida Class E or transfer your Out-of-State equivalent driver license.

 Have Real ID documents to prove your citizenship or legal presence, name change (if applicable), residential address*, and social security number, unless you have previously been issued a Real ID compliant Florida driver license and no changes are needed. For a complete list of acceptable documents, visit flhsmv.gov/whattobring.

*Refer to the Residential Address Requirements section for information specific to Commercial License holders/applicants.


 An Online Application is REQUIRED for all transactions! Complete the Online Driver License & ID Card Application  (https://taxcollector.jotform.com/210103795736152) – or scan the QR code to access the application – prior to your appointment. Do not print the application; an associate will access your electronic submission during your appointment. Applications are valid for 90 days. 
 
Step 2. Obtain Medical Card (if applicable)
 
 You must self-certify your driving status and provide a current medical card, if required by your selected status. Please visit http://www.flhsmv.gov/ddl/cdlmedicalcert.html for more information. 

Note: You can complete written exams before obtaining a medical card (if applicable). However, a Commercial Learner Permit cannot be issued until you obtain and present a medical card, if required by your selected status. 
 
Step 3. Take and Pass Required Written Testing
 
Schedule an appointment online at taxcollector.comWe only serve Manatee County residents.
 
Depending on the class of license and endorsements you wish to obtain, you will be required to take and pass the following written exams:
 
 Class A

Combination vehicle 26,001 lbs GVWR or more, towing a trailer more than 10,000 lbs GVWR        
 
 Class B

Single vehicle 26,001 lbs GVWR or more; may only tow a trailer 10,000 lbs GWVR or less        
 
 Class C

Single vehicle 26,000 lbs GVWR or less that requires a Passenger or Hazmat Endorsement   
 
  • General Knowledge (50 questions)
  • Combination Vehicles (20 questions)
  • Air Brakes (25 questions)*
  • General Knowledge (50 questions)
  • Air Brakes (25 questions)*
  • General Knowledge (50 questions)
  • Air Brakes (25 questions)*
 
*If you do not take the Air Brakes written exam, your CLP/CDL will be issued with an “L” restriction, which limits you to operating commercial vehicles without air brakes.
 
If you need any endorsements, you must take and pass all applicable written exams:
 
 Tanker (N) - 20 questions
 Passenger (P) - 20 questions
 School Bus (S) - 20 questions
 Double/Triple Trailers (T) - 20 questions
 Hazmat (H)* – 30 questions 


*Hazmat endorsements cannot be added to a Commercial Learner Permit.
 
All written exams (except Hazmat) are valid for one year only. Hazmat exams are only valid for 60 days. Any exams not applied to a physical CDL within the specified time frame will be invalidated and will require retesting.
 
Step 4. Obtain a Commercial Learner Permit
 
You are required to purchase a Commercial Learner Permit (CLP) that will allow you to practice in a vehicle for your desired license class (with restrictions and endorsements) for up to 365* days with a 21 year or older driver who holds a CDL equivalent to or higher than the classification indicated on your permit (including any applicable endorsements); he/she must occupy the front seat closest to the driver.

*Note: The 365 days begins from the date you pass the CDL General Knowledge exam.
 
You are required to hold the permit for 14 business days before you are permitted to complete any skills testing.
 
Step 5. Take and Pass Required Skills Tests
 
Prior to being eligible for the CDL Driving Skills Tests, you must complete Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT). (Some exceptions apply.) This training is not offered by our office. For more information, please visit the following website: https://tpr.fmcsa.dot.gov/

After holding your CLP for at least 14 business days, you must take and pass your CDL Driving Skills Road Skills Test through an approved provider. (The Driver License Office does not administer the Driving Skills Road Test for Commercial Driver Licenses.)
 
For more information and to schedule an appointment to take the required tests, please visit the Statewide Contracted Commercial Motor Vehicle Skill Test Sites website:
 
flhsmv.gov/driver-licenses-id-cards/commercial-motor-vehicle-drivers/third-party-skill-test-sites/
 
 You will be required to take and pass the following Driving Skills Road Tests in the vehicle class (A, B or C) that you plan to operate:  These tests are required for first-time CDL issuances, upgrades and when adding/removing endorsements/restrictions.
 
 A Driving Skills Road Test is required for the following endorsements. If interested in adding one or both of these endorsements, you must be prepared to take the test in the appropriate type of vehicle:   Restrictions may be added based on the type of vehicle you take the Driving Skills Road Test in. Refer to the Restrictions Chart (listed below) to review the possible restrictions. If you do not want one or more restrictions added to your CDL, you must be prepared to take the Driving Skills Road Test in the appropriate type of vehicle.
 
Step 6. Obtain a Commercial Driver License
 
 Schedule an appointment online at taxcollector.comWe only serve Manatee County residents. 

 An Online Application is REQUIRED for all transactions! Complete the Online Driver License & ID Card Application  (https://taxcollector.jotform.com/210103795736152) – or scan the QR code to access the application – prior to your appointment. Do not print the application; an associate will access your electronic submission during your appointment. Applications are valid for 90 days. 

 Your exams will be verified to ensure all proper testing was completed and all exams are still valid. 

 You must take and pass a Vision and Hearing exam meeting the State of Florida’s minimum vision requirements – These exams are administered by a Driver License Examiner in our office. 
 
Residential Address Requirements

Commercial License applicants must present two proofs of Florida residential address in their name. A Certification of Address form can no longer be used.

Applicants must present either two proofs from List A* OR one proof from List A* and one proof from List B.

 
List A List B
Recent lease or rental agreement for the residence with a term of 6 months or greater (must be dated within the last 6 months) Latest W-2 form or 1099 form (must be dated within the last 6 months)
Current Florida voter registration card Recent bank or credit card statement (must be dated within the last 60 days)
Florida vehicle or vessel registration or title Latest military orders
Current homeowner's insurance policy or bill Recent pay stub (must be dated within the last 60 days)
Current utility bill (must be dated within the last 60 days) Recent official government documents (must be dated within the last 60 days)
Recent cellular or landline telephone bill (must be dated within the last 60 days)  
Recent internet service provider bill (must be dated within the last 60 days)  
Latest property tax bill  

*Commercial License applicants who are unable to provide a proof of residential address from List A must provide a Declaration of Domicile filed with the Clerk of the Circuit Court pursuant to Florida Statues section 222.17 AND one proof of residential address document from List B.

Note: If you currently hold a Florida CDL and are unable to comply with the requirements indicated above, you may be eligible to change your address online - or scan the QR code to access the site - to change your address.
 
Federal Vision Waiver
 
You must meet the minimum federal vision requirement of 20/40 or better in each eye with or without best correction (glasses or contacts). If you are unable to meet this requirement you will be restricted to intrastate operation and a “K” restriction will be placed on your CDL. If you do not want the restriction on your CDL, you must obtain a Federal Vision Waiver Note: Federal Vision Waivers are only available to individuals who have held a CDL for at least 3 years prior to loss of vision.
 
Endorsement Information
 
H.............................................Transports hazardous materials requiring placards (must be 21 or older and a US citizen or permanent legal resident)         
N.............................................Tanker, 1,000 gallon capacity or more
P..............................................Designed to carry more than 15 persons including the driver        
S.............................................School Bus 
T..............................................Double / Triple Trailers       
X.............................................Combination of Tanker and Hazardous Materials

 
Restriction Information  

9...............................................Hearing Aid         
E...............................................No Manual Transmission Equipped CMV (Auto Transmission CDL)*
K...............................................CDL Intrastate Only (see below)        
L................................................No Air Brake Equipped CMV
M...............................................No Class A Passenger Vehicle      
N...............................................No Class A or B Passenger Vehicle
O...............................................No Tractor-Trailer CMV       
P................................................No Passengers in CMV Bus (CLP Only)
Q...............................................No Class A School Bus Vehicle
R...............................................No Class A or B School Bus Vehicle      
V................................................Medical Variance Documentation Required (based on Medical Card)
W...............................................Farm Waiver   
X................................................No Cargo in CMV Tank Vehicle (CLP Only)
Z................................................No Full Air Brake Equipped CMV

 
Interstate Intrastate
  • Authorized to operate a Commercial Motor Vehicle in ALL states
  • Authorized to transport loaded cargo that originated out-of-state
  • Authorized to transport loaded cargo that is being shipped out-of-state
  • Authorized to operate a Commercial Motor Vehicle ONLY in the state of Florida
  • NOT authorized to transport loaded cargo that originated out-of-state
  • NOT authorized to transport loaded cargo that is being shipped out-of-state

*All first-time CDL issuances will be restricted to No Manual Transmission Equipped CMV unless documentation is provided from the third-party tester indicating all three parts of the skills test were completed in a vehicle equipped with a manual transmission.
 
Length of Commercial Driver License & Renewal Information

CDL w/o Hazmat (79 or younger)...................8 years
CDL w/o Hazmat (80 or older)........................6 years
CDL w/ Hazmat (any age)..............................4 years


CDL holders can renew up to 12 months in advance.

 
Acceptable Methods of Payment and Estimated Fees
 
We accept cash, check, debit cards, and credit cards. A $2.50 processing fee for debit cards and a 2.5% processing fee (minimum of $2.50) for credit cards will apply. Our office does not retain any portion of this fee.
 
Estimate of fees for your Commercial Driver License:
 
Service Fee.............................................$6.25         Commercial Learner Permit...............$0.00
Commercial Driver License....................$75.00         Replacement.....................................$25.00  
Renewal.................................................$75.00         Endorsements....................................$7.00 (each)
Hazmat..................................................$91.00         Late Fee..............................................$15.00

 
Note: If you work for a public or private school that requires you to hold a CDL, bring your employee ID card or a letter from your employer to receive your Original or Renewal CDL at a reduced rate. All documentation is subject to verification.
 
Not a Manatee County Resident? Our offices are open by appointment only for Manatee County residents/businesses only.  All out-of-county residents must visit their home county for information and processing.  To find a location visit flhsmv.gov/locations.

CommercialDriverLicenses – Last Update: 08/12/2022