Logo: Manatee County Tax Collector, Ken Burton Jr. Innovating better ways to serve.

Office Hours
Monday – Friday, 9 AM - 4:30 PM
taxcollector.com

Learner License Upgrade to Class E
THIS TRANSACTION MUST BE PROCESSED BY APPOINTMENT AT THE
DRIVER LICENSE OFFICE – 904 301 BLVD W, BRADENTON

Customers will be charged a $6.25 Tax Collector service fee for information and processing, and additional transaction fees may apply. Visit taxcollector.com to schedule your appointment. Services are for Manatee County residents and businesses only.

You must meet the following requirements to be eligible to upgrade your Learner License to a Class E License (also known as an Intermediate License when you are under 18 years of age):
 
Step 1. Complete Learner License Requirements
 
 You must have completed all Learner License requirements.

 You must be at least 16 years of age to be eligible to take the Driving Skills Road Test.  If you are under 18 years old*, you must have held a Learner License for at least 1 year conviction-free. Verify your eligibility to upgrade at online – or scan the QR code to access the site

*If 18 years of age or older, you have the option of completing the Learner License requirements and upgrading it to a Class E License without first being issued a Learner License.  If you opt to do so, it must be completed in two steps.  You would first be required to pass all written exams after which you would be able to schedule an appointment on taxcollector.com to take the Driving Skills Road Test.
 
Step 2. Take and Pass Required Testing
 
 You must take and pass the Driving Skills Road Test.  You may take this test at our office, through a private provider, or through Driver’s Ed at your high school.  If taken at our office, you must read over the Driving Skills Road Test Information sheet prior to scheduling an appointment to attempt the exam. 

NotePrivate companies can administer the Driving Skills Road Test on weekends, after hours, or during regular business hours.  Upon successful completion of the test, the company uploads your results to the State of Florida, allowing us to use the test results on file.  This expedites the issuance of your license when you visit our office.  Contact Ault’s Driver Education Center at 941-355-4202 or by email at aults@verizon.net, or All Florida Safety Institute LLC at (866) 838-0055 for details. You can also visit flhsmv.gov/driver-licenses-id-cards/driver-license-exams/ for a list of other private providers. 
 
Step 3. Visit Our Office to Obtain Your Upgraded License
 
 Schedule an appointment online at taxcollector.comWe only serve Manatee County residents

 An Online Application is REQUIRED for all transactions! To complete your driver license or ID card transaction at one of our offices, you must complete the Online Driver License & ID Card Application (https://taxcollector.jotform.com/210103795736152) – or scan the QR code to access the application – prior to your appointment. Do not print the application; an associate will access your electronic submission during your appointment. Applications are valid for 90 days. 

 You must present documents that establish your identity pursuant to the Real ID Act (i.e., birth certificate, proof of name change[s], U.S. passport, USCIS [INS] docs, Social Security Card and 2 proofs of residential address) unless you have already been issued a Real ID compliant Florida Learner License or ID card and no changes are required.  Non-US citizens must have at least 61 days remaining on their legal presence documentation. 

 If under 18 years old, your parent, guardian, or another responsible adult 21 years old or older must be present with their identification to certify that you have had 50 hours of driving experience, 10 of which must include nighttime driving.  If such person cannot be present for whatever reason, they must complete Form HSMV 71143 and this form must be turned in with your application for a Class E License. 
 
Intermediate (Upgraded) Class E Driver License Restrictions
 
16 Years of Age: You can drive alone between 6 am and 11 pm. All other times, you must be traveling to or from work or be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old.
 
17 Years of Age: You can drive alone between 5 am and 1 am. All other times, you must be traveling to or from work or be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old.
 
Acceptable Methods of Payment and Estimated Fees
 
We accept cash, check, debit cards, and credit cards. A $2.50 processing fee for debit cards and a 2.5% processing fee (minimum of $2.50) for credit cards will apply. Our office does not retain any portion of this fee.
 
Estimate of fees for your Learner License upgrade:
 
Service Fee..........................................$6.25                   Upgrade w/ changes / lost...........................................................$25.00
Upgrade w/o changes....................$0.00                   Transfer Out-of-State Learner License and Upgrade.........$48.00
Road Test Re-Take............................$20.00 (each)       Upgrade w/ Renewal......................................................................$48.00
Renewal Late Fee..............................$15.00

 
Not a Manatee County Resident? Our offices are open by appointment only for Manatee County residents/businesses only.  All out-of-county residents must visit their home county for information and processing.  To find a location visit flhsmv.gov/locations.
 
Learner_Upgrade – Last Update: 06/16/2022