THIS TRANSACTION MUST BE PROCESSED BY APPOINTMENT AT THE DRIVER LICENSE OFFICE – 904 301 BLVD W, BRADENTON Customers will be charged a $6.25 Tax Collector service fee for information and processing, and additional transaction fees may apply. Visit taxcollector.com to schedule your appointment. Services are for Manatee County residents and businesses only.
Section 316.193, Florida Statutes, mandates ignition interlock devices (IID) be installed on the vehicles of certain persons convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI).When required due to DUI conviction or directed by the court, an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) must be continuously installed on your vehicle(s) for a specified time period. In some cases, you may be required to have an IID installed per Florida Statute, even if the court does not require one based on your DUI conviction. Visit www.flhsmv.gov for a list of frequently asked questions.
Note: There is no reinstatement exception if a vehicle is not owned or routinely operated by the suspended individual.
1. IID VENDORS
Drivers who are required to have an IID installed will need to contact an FLHSMV approved provider for installation. Visit www.flhsmv.gov for a list of approved providers.
2. IID INSTALLATION PERIODS
The standard installation time periods are listed below, however a court can authorize a longer time period.
Only required if ordered by the court
First conviction of .15 or higher or minor in vehicle
At least 6 months
At least 1 year
Second conviction of .15 or higher or minor in vehicle
At least 2 years
At least 2 years
Fourth or subsequent conviction
At least 5 years
If you have not had an IID installed on your vehicle(s), this will be reflected on your driver license record. Visit an IID vendor (see Section 1) to have the IID installed on your vehicle(s). Once installed, you must visit our office to have the 2 restriction added to your driver’s license. The IID MUST be installed prior to visiting our office & proof of installation is required.
3. VIOLATIONS OF IID REQUIREMENTS
A violation of the IID (2 restriction) may be an event such as: 2 breath tests above the fail point upon start-up, a refusal to provide a rolling retest deep lung breath sample, a rolling retest above the fail point, or tampering, which breaches the guidelines for use of the IID. If you are convicted of violating the IID, you will serve a revocation period (based on prior violations). And, the original time period will start over upon reinstatement of the revocation period.
1 year revocation
5 year revocation
4. CANCELLATIONS FOR FAILURE TO COMPLY
Your driving privilege will be cancelled as a result of any of the following:
Failure to report for IID vendor download appointment
Failure to pay vendor fees
Failure to schedule an IID violation appointment
Failure to report for treatment referral
Early de-install of IID
Prior to cancellation of your driving privileges, contact a licensed DUI Program Provider that serves the county where you live, work, or attend school to schedule an appointment. The DUI program will review the use of the IID with you and discuss the circumstances related to the cancellation. For additional information related to Cancellations for Failure to Comply, contact the Bureau of Motorist Compliance at (850) 617 2505.
Manatee County DUI Program Provider
State College of Florida Traffic Safety Institute
5840 26th Street West Bradenton, FL 34207
5. OUT-OF-STATE IID COMPLIANCE
If you have questions about using an out-of-state vendor to install an IID (you live in another state), contact the Bureau of Motorist Compliance at (850) 617 2505 for assistance. The Bureau of Motorist Compliance will determine if the out-of-state vendor will be able to comply with Florida’s IID requirements. Note: The Division of Driver Licenses in Tallahassee will not accept an out-of-state vendor installation for customers who live in Florida.
6. EXCEPTIONS FOR IID INSTALLATION
Medical Exceptions: If you are unable to operate an IID for medical reasons, you will need to contact the Medical Review section at 850-617-3814 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org to request a medical waiver form. If a Medical Waiver is approved, this will be indicated on your driver license record and you will receive a letter from the State with your requirements. After fulfillment of your requirements with the DUI program, you will be required to purchase a license restricted to employment purposes only.
Employment Vehicle Exceptions: If you meet the IID requirements, hold a valid license with a “2” restriction, and have written permission from the employer, you may operate the employer’s vehicle for job-related purposes without the required IID. The letter granting permission from the employer is to be kept with the vehicle and provided to law enforcement should you be stopped for a traffic violation. Contact the Bureau of Motorist Compliance for full requirements at (850) 617-2505.
7. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
You can sign up for electronic notifications when citations and/or sanctions are added to your record online - or scan the QR code on the right to access the site.
An Online Application is REQUIRED for all transactions! To complete your driver license or ID card transaction at one of our offices, you must complete the Online Driver License & ID Card Application (https://taxcollector.jotform.com/210103795736152) – or scan the QR code to access the application – prior to your appointment. Do not print the application; an associate will access your electronic submission during your appointment. Applications are valid for 90 days.
Not a Manatee County Resident? Our offices are open by appointment only for Manatee County residents/businesses only. All out-of-county residents must visit their home county for information and processing. To find a location visit flhsmv.gov/locations.