THIS TRANSACTION MUST BE PROCESSED BY APPOINTMENT AT THE DRIVER LICENSE OFFICE – 904 301 BLVD W, BRADENTON Customers will be charged a $6.25 Tax Collector service fee for information and processing, and additional transaction fees may apply. Visit taxcollector.com to schedule your appointment. Services are for Manatee County residents and businesses only.
1. WHY AM I BEING DENIED MY LICENSE?
Your application for a Florida driver license has been denied because of one of the following:
You were unable to see 20/40 in each eye or both eyes together, but your vision reading meets Florida’s minimum vision requirements. Therefore, your current license will not be revoked.
You were unable to see 20/40 in each eye or both eyes together, and your vision reading does not meet Florida’s minimum vision requirements. Therefore, your current Florida license and driving privileges have been revoked. If you drove to our office alone, we strongly recommend that you call someone to come pick you up. (If you have an out-of-state license, it will not be revoked.)
Your Florida driving record indicates that you must provide us with a Vision Report from an eye specialist prior to renewing.
2. WHAT STEPS DO I HAVE TO TAKE TO GET MY LICENSE?
In order to have a Florida driver license issued or renewed, you must adhere to the following requirements:
Visit a Florida, out-of-state, out-of-country, or military eye specialist and have a Report of Eye Exam (HSMV 72010) completed. If your eye doctor has already submitted the Report of Eye Exam to the State, you must obtain a copy of the form from your doctor to complete your transaction.
Gather documents that establish your identity pursuant to the Real ID Act (e.g. birth certificate, proof of name change(s), US passport, USCIS/INS documents, Social Security Card and 2 proofs of residential address). If you already have a Florida license with a gold star in the upper right-hand corner, and you are not making any changes to your license, you may be exempt from providing these documents. For a complete list of acceptable identity documents, visit flhsmv.gov/whattobring.
Visit taxcollector.com to schedule an appointment to return to the Driver License Office.
An Online Application is REQUIRED for all transactions! To complete your driver license or ID card transaction at one of our offices, you must complete the Online Driver License & ID Card Application (https://taxcollector.jotform.com/210103795736152 – or scan the QR code to access the application – prior to your appointment. Do not print the application; an associate will access your electronic submission during your appointment. Applications are valid for 90 days.
Our office will review the Report of Eye Exam to determine if you are eligible for license issuance.
If the eye specialist indicates that your vision with best correction meets Florida’s minimum vision requirements, your Florida driver license will be issued. Based on the eye specialist’s findings noted on the form, you may require driving restrictions, such as “Corrective Lenses”, “Outside Rearview Mirror” and/or “Daylight Driving Only”. If these restrictions are added, you will be advised.
The fee for issuance of your license will range from $54.25 to $81.25. There is also a $7.00 fee per endorsement and a $15.00 late fee, if applicable. Our office acceptscash, check, debit cards, and credit cards. A $2.50 processing fee for debit cards and a 2.5% processing fee (minimum of $2.50) for credit cards will apply. Our office does not retain any portion of this fee.
If the eye specialist indicates that your vision with best correction does not meet Florida’s minimum vision requirements, your Florida driver license and driving privileges will be revoked (if not already revoked previously). If you drove to our office alone, we strongly recommend that you call someone to come pick you up. (If you have an out-of-state license, it will not be revoked.)
Not a Manatee County Resident? Our offices are open by appointment only for Manatee County residents/businesses only. All out-of-county residents must visit their home county for information and processing. To find a location, visit flhsmv.gov/locations.