THIS TRANSACTION MUST BE PROCESSED BY APPOINTMENT AT THE DRIVER LICENSE OFFICE – 904 301 BLVD W, BRADENTON Customers will be charged a $6.25 Tax Collector service fee for information and processing, and additional transaction fees may apply. Visit taxcollector.com to schedule your appointment. Services are for Manatee County residents and businesses only.
If your license is suspended or revoked, we urge you not to drive to or from our office, as you may be ticketed or arrested by law enforcement if caught driving. (There are no exceptions or allowances in Florida Statutes [the law] that would allow a person to drive to a tax collector or driver license office on a suspended or revoked license.)
The Financial Responsibility Law(Chapter 324, F.S.) requires proof of Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage when certain events occur. If you are in a crash and all 4 of the following apply, a Financial Responsibility suspension will be applied to your driver license record:
You received a moving traffic violation involving an official Florida crash report, and
One or more persons involved in the crash had bodily injury or an indication of pain or possible injury (even if it’s just you), and
You did not have liability coverage (BIL and PDL) on the crash date or coverage could not be verified, and
You did not comply prior to the suspension of your driver license (15 days from date of notice)
If you were the Owner and Operator of the vehicle involved in the crash, your driver license and the vehicle’s plate/registrations will be suspended. If you were the Operatoronly, your driver license will be suspended. If you were the Owner only, your vehicle’s plate/registration will be suspended. Note: Clearance of the Owner only or Operator only does not automatically clear the other. They must be cleared separately.
This suspension remains in effect for 3 years from the original suspension date or until you comply with reinstatement requirements (detailed below) based on circumstance.
Step 1. Save a Trip – You Might NOT Have to Visit Our Office
Need to reinstate? Many suspensions can be reinstated online - or scan the QR code on the right to access the site.
Step 2. Obtain Clearance Documentation
You must obtain clearance documents based on your unique circumstances:
Option 1. You Did Not Have BIL and PDL Coverage on the Offense Date
You must carry BIL and PDL coverage certified by an SR-22 form for three years from the original suspension date. The SR-22 form can be submitted in one of the following formats:
Electronic: Your insurance company may be able to post your SR-22 electronically to your driver record.
Paper: You may submit an original SR-22, which you would receive in person from your insurance agent.
Fax: You may have your insurance company fax the SR-22 directly to our office. The fax must be accompanied by a coversheet including the insurance company name and phone number.
Note: Copies of the SR-22 form will not be accepted, nor will insurance cards or policies in this case. If you are a non-Florida resident, you may be exempt from the SR-22 requirement. Ask an associate for details.
If within one year of the original suspension date, you must pay the Security Deposit or obtain Written Releases, which would consist of an Agreement for Release/Payment (74036) or Full Release (74014) from the person(s) who sustained injuries and/or property damage. After one year has passed, the security deposit and/or written releases can be waived. (If you are involved in bankruptcy proceedings, advise the associate so that alternative options may be presented.)
Option 2. You Had PDL Coverage on the Offense Date (No BIL)
If within one year of the original suspension date, present proof of PDL in the form of a letter from the insurance company/agent, on their letterhead. Our office cannot accept an insurance card, insurance binder, insurance declaration page or letter of experience. The letter must specifically state that (1) PDL insurance was effective on the date of the crash, (2) list the vehicle identification number (VIN) of the vehicle involved in the crash, (3) policy effective dates, (4) policy number, (5) insurance company name, (6) insurance company code and (7) insurance company/agent contact information.
Note: This letter will ONLY waive the PDL security deposit(s).
If within one year of the original suspension date and BIL security deposits are also due, you must pay the Security Deposit or obtain Written Releases, which would consist of an Agreement for Release/Payment (74036) or Full Release (74014) from the person(s) who sustained injuries and/or property damage. After one year has passed, the security deposit and/or written releases can be waived. (If you are involved in bankruptcy proceedings, advise the associate so that alternative options may be presented.)
You must carry BIL and PDL coverage certified by an SR-22 form for three years from the original suspension date. (See Option 1 for SR-22 requirements.)
Option 3. You Had BIL and PDL Coverage on the Offense Date
Owner or Operator presents proof of a Florida Policy including BIL and PDL (1) in effect on the crash date, (2) in your name, and (3) for the specific vehicle involved in the crash. The proof of insurance may be a card or policy, provided it lists BIL and PDL coverage. If the operator was not the owner of the vehicle, their policy must include BIL/PDL, but will not show the vehicle involved in the crash.
Note: If the Florida insurance was already submitted and was denied, a letter from the insurance company (on the insurance company’s letterhead) must be presented and must include (1) insurance company/agent contact info, (2) insurance company name, (3) policy number, (4) policy period, (5) insurance company code, (6) vehicle(s) insured, (7) level of coverage (including PIP and PDL) and (8) name of insured. Or, Florida insurance for another policy/company must be presented. Or, insurance for another policy/company must be presented that was in effect on the crash date.
Out-of-State insurance must be submitted in the form of a letter on letterhead (as described above).
Option 4. You Waited Out the 3-Year Suspension Period
Provided it has been 3 years + 1 day since the original suspension date, your license may be reinstated with no additional documentation, provided there are no other issues on file making your record otherwise ineligible for reinstatement.
Step 3. Reinstate Your Driver License Record
You have the following options to reinstate your driver license record:
Online! Many suspensions can be reinstated online - or scan the QR code to access the site.
Visit our Driver License Office at 904 301 Blvd W, Bradenton – Appointments are required. You must present all reinstatement documents needed based on your unique circumstance, as detailed in Step 2.
All documents will be scanned and are subject to verification.
Step 4. Acceptable Methods of Payment and Estimated Fees
We acceptcash, check, debit cards, and credit cards. A $2.50 processing fee for debit cards and a 2.5% processing fee (minimum of $2.50) for credit cards will apply. Our office does not retain any portion of this fee.
Estimate of fees* for your reinstatement:
Service Fee $6.25
Compliance prior to Suspension $0.00
Reinstatement Fee $15.00 + Security Deposit (if applicable)
*Fees listed above only apply to reinstatements processed at the Driver License Office. Online fees may differ slightly.
**Other related reinstatement or issuance fees may apply.
If you have another insurance suspension that requires you to carry an FR44, this can be used in lieu of obtaining an SR22.
You can sign up for electronic notifications when citations and/or sanctions are added to your record online - or scan the QR code on the right to access the site.
An Online Application is REQUIRED for all in-office transactions! To complete your driver license or ID card transaction at one of our offices, you must complete the Online Driver License & ID Card Application (https://taxcollector.jotform.com/210103795736152) – or scan the QR code to access the application – prior to your appointment. Do not print the application; an associate will access your electronic submission during your appointment. Applications are valid for 90 days.
Not a Manatee County Resident? Our offices are open by appointment only for Manatee County residents/businesses only. All out-of-county residents must visit their home county for information and processing. To find a location visit flhsmv.gov/locations.