THIS TRANSACTION MUST BE PROCESSED BY APPOINTMENT AT THE
DRIVER LICENSE OFFICE – 904 301 BLVD W, BRADENTON
Customers will be charged a $6.25 Tax Collector service fee for information and processing, and additional transaction fees may apply. Visit taxcollector.com to schedule your appointment. Services are for Manatee County residents and businesses only.
The cost for an original Florida license is $54.25 - $81.25 plus $7.00 per endorsement.
Additional information and documentation may be requested to verify the validity of your application.
Please be aware that pursuant to s. 322.212, Florida Statutes, obtaining a Florida driver license by fraud is a third degree felony.
NEVER LICENSED IN ANY STATE
Because you have never been licensed in any state or you are unable to prove you were licensed in another state, you will be required to take the necessary exams to apply for a Florida Learner License. The exams would consist of Vision/Hearing, General Knowledge written exam and TLSAE.
If you are 15-17 years of age, you would need to hold a Learner License for 1 year conviction-free or until your 18th birthday before you would be eligible to apply for a Class E License.
If 18 years of age or older, you have the option of completing the Learner License requirements and upgrading to a Class E License without being issued a Learner License. If you opt to do so, it must be completed in two steps. You would first be required to take and pass the General Knowledge written exam, after which you would be able to schedule an appointment to take the Driving Skills Road Test.
If you lost your out-of-state driver license or ID card you are required to provide our office with a driving record or transcript from the previous state to prove that you held a license/ID card. If your out-of-state record is verified and eligible, a Florida license/ID card will be issued. The document must include the following details:
Date of birth
Classification of credential held
Issuance and expiration dates
If we are unable to confirm that you were previously licensed, you will be required to comply with the requirements above under Never Licensed in Any State.
If your previous driving record indicates that your license is suspended in another state, a Florida license will be denied until you reinstate your driving privilege in the other state(s). In addition, any restrictions and/or endorsements on your previous driving record will be carried over to your Florida license when applicable. Exception: Our office does not process Commercial (CDL) Driving Skills Road Tests.
You will be required to provide documents that establish your identity pursuant to the Real ID Act (e.g. US birth certificate, proof of name change(s), US passport, USCIS (INS) documents, Social Security Card and 2 proofs of residential address). For a complete list of acceptable identity documents, visit flhsmv.gov/whattobring.
Non-Manatee County Residents
Our offices are open by appointment only for Manatee County residents/businesses only. All out-of-county residents must visit their home county for information and processing. To find a location visit flhsmv.gov/locations.
Original & Lost Out-of-State Driver Licenses – Last Update: 10/06/2022