THIS TRANSACTION MUST BE PROCESSED BY APPOINTMENT AT THE DRIVER LICENSE OFFICE – 904 301 BLVD W, BRADENTON
Customers will be charged a $6.25 Tax Collector service fee for information and processing, and additional transaction fees may apply. Visit taxcollector.com to schedule your appointment. Services are for Manatee County residents and businesses only.
You must be at least 15 years old or older and must meet the following requirements to be eligible to apply for a Learner License.
Step 1. Take and Pass Required Testing
You must take and pass the following exams. We recommend that you study the handbookprior to taking any exams.
General Knowledge (50 questions) – This exam consists of 45 road rules and 5 road signs. You may take it online at https://www.flhsmv.gov/driver-licenses-id-cards/driver-license-exams/, during Driver’s Ed at your high school, or in our office. If taken online, form HSMV 71144 is required for minors if the parent, guardian, or other responsible adult is not present during the issuance process. If taken in our office, read over the Written Exam Information sheet prior to scheduling an appointment to attempt the exam.
Step 2. Proof of Citizenship or Legal Presence (Identity) – Bring One
Bring one of the following documents for proof of your citizenship or legal presence (identity) unless you have previously been issued a Real ID compliant Florida issued ID card:
Unexpired US Passport
Original or Certified US Birth Certificate (must be government issued)
US Naturalization Certificate
INS (USCIS) Documentation (must have at least 61 days remaining until the expiration date)
No Proof Available/No Proof of Legal Presence – Florida does not issue driver licenses/ID cards in this case; you must submit a proof of your identity
Step 3. Proof of Name Change (if applicable) – Bring ALL
If your current name is different than the name as listed on your proof of citizenship/legal presence, bring all that apply for proof of your legal name change (if applicable):
Original or Certified Marriage License/Certificate (must be government issued – cannot be issued by a church)
Note: You must report any name change to Social Security at least 48 hours before visiting our office so that your name verifies in the State driver license system and the Social Security Administration’s database.
Step 4. Proof of Social Security Number – Bring One
Sections 322.051 and 322.08, Florida Statutes, require customers to present proof of social security number (SSN). Proof must list full name and full SSN. Bring one of the following documents for proof of your SSN:
Social Security Card or Stub
W-2/1099 Form (pre-printed)
L-676 Form (# never issued)
Military ID card
Step 5. Proof of Residential Address – Bring Two
Bring two documents for proof of your residential address – it cannot be a PO Box. The documents must show your name and your complete residential address.
Any postmarked mail w/ sender information listed
Cell phone/cable bill
Voter registration card
Federal/State EBT account printout
Federal/State/County – mail or account
Screen print from car insurance or other bill or business account
Homeless – Letter from authorized Manatee County Non-Profit Agency serving the homeless indicating that you are a client receiving services is required
If you live with the individual signing for parental consent in Step 6, you may bring two proofs of address (as detailed above) in their name
If you live with someone other than the individual signing for parental consent in Step 6 and you cannot provide a signed lease, or other documents, both parties must visit our office to sign affidavits/statements. Two proofs of address in the other individual’s name will be required.
Step 6. Visit Our Office to Obtain Your Learner License
Schedule an appointment online at taxcollector.com. We only serve Manatee County residents.
An Online Application is REQUIRED for all transactions! To complete your driver license or ID card transaction at one of our offices, you must complete the Online Driver License & ID Card Application (https://taxcollector.jotform.com/210103795736152) – or scan the QR code to access the application – prior to your appointment. Do not print the application; an associate will access your electronic submission during your appointment. Applications are valid for 90 days.
Your parent, guardian, or another responsible adult must be present with their identification to give their parental consent. This person must be willing to assume the obligation imposed by s. 322.09 F.S. and they must verbally certify that they assume joint responsibility with you for damages caused by negligence or willful misconduct. If such person cannot be present for whatever reason, they must complete Form HSMV 71142 and this form must be turned in with your application for a Learner License. (See below for additional information regarding parental consent.)
Exceptions for parental consent:
If married or legally emancipated, you do not need parental consent to apply for a Learner License. You must submit an original/certified copy of your marriage certificate or “Emancipation of Minor Child” court order.
If you are 18 years old or older, you do not need parental consent to apply for a Learner License
Take and pass a Vision and Hearing exam - These exams are administered by a Driver License Examiner in our office.
Learner License Driving Restrictions and Information
You must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years of age or older at all times.
You may operate a vehicle only during daylight hours during the first three months of issue.
After three months, you may operate a vehicle until 10:00pm.
You are not allowed to operate motorcycles, mopeds or go-peds.
To upgrade to an intermediate license, you must have held your learner license for at least one year, conviction-free, and you need at least 50 hours of driving time (10 hours of which are nighttime driving).*
These requirements apply to all Learner License holders, regardless of age.
*If 18 years of age or older, you have the option of completing the Learner License requirements and upgrading it to a Class E License without first being issued a Learner License. If you opt to do so, it must be completed in two steps. You would first be required to pass all written exams after which you would be able to schedule an appointment on taxcollector.com to take the Driving Skills Road Test.
You can monitor your minor’s driving record 24/7online – or scan the QR code to access the site.
If you signed for parental consent on or after May 1st, 2021, and you wish to withdraw your consent from one or more minors, you can do so online – or scan the QR code to access the site. Note: If you choose to withdraw parental consent, a cancellation will be added to the minor’s driver record until the age of 18 or until a new consent form is filed with the FLHSMV.
Acceptable Methods of Payment and Estimated Fees
We acceptcash, check, debit cards, and credit cards. A $2.50 processing fee for debit cards and a 2.5% processing fee (minimum of $2.50) for credit cards will apply. Our office does not retain any portion of this fee.
Estimate of fees for your original Florida Learner License:
Service Fee $6.25 Learner License $48.00 Written Exam Re-Take $10.00 (each)
Not a Manatee County Resident? Our offices are open by appointment only for Manatee County residents/businesses only. All out-of-county residents must visit their home county for information and processing. To find a location visit flhsmv.gov/locations.
First-Time Learner License – Last Update: 02/24/2022